Dr. Tampi is the Professor and Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and the Inaugural Bhatia Family Endowed Chair in Psychiatry at Creighton University School of Medicine and Catholic Health Initiatives (CHI) Health Behavioral Health Services in Omaha, Nebraska. He is also a Professor (Adjunct) of Psychiatry at Yale School of Medicine in New Haven, Connecticut. Dr. Tampi is the inaugural Historian of the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry (AAGP). He is a Past President of the AAGP. Dr. Tampi was the Secretary and Treasurer of the AAGP for 2017-2018. He is also the Past President of the International Medical Graduates (IMG) Caucus at the American Psychiatric Association (APA). Dr. Tampi is a Distinguished Fellow of the APA and of the AAGP. He was a recipient of the AAGP ‘Clinician of the Year Award’ in 2013. In 2019, Dr. Tampi received the AAGP ‘Educator of the Year Award’. He received the ‘2019 Outstanding Academician of the Year Award’ given by the Indo-American Psychiatric Association (IAPA). Dr. Tampi is the recipient of the 2021 ‘Jack Weinberg Award’ for Geriatric Psychiatry given by the APA. He was honored with the 2022 ‘George Tarjan Award’ by the APA.